Nobel Prize 2023The Nobel Prize 2023, a prestigious award for exceptional contributions to mankind, is justly awarded in different scientific fields for groundbreaking achievements.

Today, we will be discussing the Nobel Prize 2023 awardees in scientific fields. The Nobel Prize for Science is presented by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences includes fields like physics, chemistry, economic sciences, medicine, and literature.

This award is presented every year for a groundbreaking achievement or for making an impact in a certain field.

This prestigious award is international and is praised around the world. Scientists who achieve this award are the best in their fields.

We will also be discussing why there is not a Nobel Prize in mathematics, as it is also a very huge field.

Let us start our discussion by explaining who else won the Nobel Prize in 2023 in certain fields.

Nobel Prize in Physics 2023

Nobel Prize in Physics 2023

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences gave the Nobel Prize in Physics to three scientists for their exceptional work in experiments with light capture.

  • Pierre Agostini
    The Ohio State University, Columbus, US
  • Ferenc Krausz
    Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians Universitat Munchen, Germany
  • Anne L’Huillier
    Lund University, Sweden

They were given the Nobel Prize for their work on creating extremely short pulses of light to capture the energy of electrons.

According to the press release:

for the experimental methods that can generate extremely small pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in the matter

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences gave the Nobel Prize 2023 in chemistry to:

  • Moungi G. Bawendi
    Massachusetts Institutes of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, US
  • Louis E. Brus
    Columbia University, New York US
  • Alexei I. Ekimov
    Nanocrystals Technology Inc., New York, US

for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots

The announcement ceremony for the 2023 Nobel Prize in Chemistry is shown below:

These three scientists discovered and synthesized quantum dots and made a great breakthrough not only in chemistry but also in physics.

For more details on this achievement, read the official blog here on their official websites.

Why is there no Nobel Prize in mathematics?

Now, you might be wondering if there is a Nobel Prize for almost every field. But there is no Nobel Prize in mathematics. This is quite strange, isn’t it?

The sole purpose of the Nobel Prize is to give credit and international recognition to those who have done something exceptional and incredible for mankind.

As there is nothing much that could be discovered or invented in mathematics that can directly affect mankind, there is no Nobel Prize for physics.

This can be difficult to accept for some of you, but it is true. For further explanation, read the blog post published by the Cheriton School of Computer Science.

Final Thoughts on Nobel Prize 2023

Finally, we have discussed the Nobel Prize 2023 in Physics and Chemistry. For further updates on other Nobel Prizes this year, stay with us.

We will be updating as soon as any new Nobel Prize 2023 ceremony is held. So far, this is it for physics and chemistry. We hope you understood why there is no Nobel Prize in mathematics.

If you are curious about our website, read the How to Stay Ahead of the Others: World Info Insights blog post to understand what we provide here on our website. You can also visit our Home Page to read more articles like this.

Comment below if you have any questions related to our article. Or you can share your suggestions with us to improve our work; do let us know. Thanks for reading our post so far. We will come back with the latest content soon.


Muhammad Atif Rauf

Creating engaging content that also ranks well in search engines. I offer years of experience in the field of article writing to anything from blog posts to copywriting. Currently studying at University and perfecting the art of words. Join me on this thrilling writing adventure!

1 Comment

Nobel Prize Snubs: Scientists Who Never Received Nobel Prize · 9 October 2023 at 00:58

[…] announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. We also covered this topic, consider checking the blog post […]

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.